Lucille Lortel Nominations

The Lucille Lortel Awards honor excellence in off-Broadway. Winners will be announced and honored at the May 1 ceremony. Herein, the full list of nominees, as well as special award recipients. (Unless indicated, categories were open to both plays and musicals.) Of note: There are several incredible shows, performances, and creative efforts that did not get nominated (say, like, Significant Other), which just shows how rich the off-Broadway scene is these days.

Outstanding Play
Outstanding Musical
  • Futurity, by Cesar Alvarez (music, lyrics, book) and The Lisps (music) 
  • Iowa, by Jenny Schwartz (book and lyrics) and Todd Almond (music and lyrics) 
  • Southern Comfort, by Dan Collins (book and lyrics) and Julianne Wick Davis (music) 
  • Tappin' Thru Life, by Maurice Hines 
  • The Wildness: Sky-Pony's Rock Fairy Tale, by Kyle Jarrow (text and songs) and Lauren Worsham (text)
Outstanding Revival (play or musical)
  • 'Tis Pity She's a Whore, by John Ford 
  • Cloud Nine, by Caryl Churchill 
  • Mother Courage and Her Children, by Bertolt Brecht, translated by John Willett 
  • The Robber Bridegroom, by Alfred Uhry (book and lyrics) and Robert Waldman (music)
  • Women Without Men, by Hazel Ellis
Outstanding Solo Show
  • The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey, written and performed by James Lecesne 
  • Forever, created and performed by Dael Orlandersmith 
  • Grounded, written by George Brant, performed by Anne Hathaway 
  • Mike Birbiglia: Thank God for Jokes, written and performed by Mike Birbiglia
Outstanding Director
Outstanding Choreographer
  • Alexandra Beller, Bedlam's Sense and Sensibility 
  • Martha Clarke, Angel Reapers 
  • Maurice Hines, Tappin' Thru Life 
  • Paul McGill, The Legend of Georgia McBride 
  • David Neuman, Futurity
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play
Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical
Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Outstanding Scenic Design
Outstanding Costume Design
  • Martha Hally, Women without Men 
  • Toni-Leslie James, First Daughter Suite 
  • Clint Ramos, Eclipsed 
  • Anita Yavich, The Legend of Georgia McBride 
  • Donna Zakowska, Angel Reapers
Outstanding Lighting Design
  • Christopher Akerlind, Grounded 
  • Mark Barton, John 
  • Ben Stanton, The Legend of Georgia McBride 
  • Justin Townsend, The Humans 
  • David Weiner, Guards at the Taj
Outstanding Sound Design
  • Matt Hubbs, The Royale 
  • Rob Milburn and Michael Bodeen, Guards at the Taj 
  • Fitz Patton, The Humans 
  • Will Pickens, Grounded 
  • Bray Poor, Buzzer
Special Awards (non-competitive)
  • Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience: Angel Reapers
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: James Houghton
  • Playwrights' Sidewalk Inductee: Susan-Lori Parks